Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: Skins RSS
Playlist Timeout
Avatar
Clay #1
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Saxtus,

I've noticed that if I let your skin run for some time I will eventually get a "Connection Timed Out" in the Playlist frame (I run a 30 second refresh rate). Do you think this just from my connection being slow from time-to-time or something more serious?

No big deal ... a refresh gets it right back.
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I don't think that it's a skin specific problem.
I have it on a LAN 8 hours per day, refreshing every 4 seconds on 3 different machines and has no problems (except when I used it on a 64MB Pentium, now it is on a 128MB PIII - propably Henry's memory leaks...)

I think it is about some connection problems. Try to see if it happens only after you search for something. BrowseAMP from version 1.80 has hard time searching, so it can't feed pages and you see it on the resfreshing frame.

Thank you for using my skin!
Saxtus
Avatar
Clay #3
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I think you are right ... a connection problem. I never see it on the LAN either just the WAN.

I use your skin for everything except my iPAQ ... Windows CE browser doesn't support frames :(

Your skin makes a large improvement to the usability ... Henry's is good and very practical!
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #4
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Quote by Clay on 2003-01-28, 17:19:
{...}I use your skin for everything except my iPAQ ... Windows CE browser doesn't support frames :( {...}
I am not planning to build a non-frame version anytime soon, so I suggest you to use Yoshi's skin.
Article can be found here: http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/howto/s...3409012,00.html
Saxtus
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #5
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I think it has something to do with:
http://browseamp.saxtus.gr/board/index.php...act=ST&f=1&t=95
Avatar
Clay #6
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I'm not expecting you build a non-frame skin ... your is great just the way it is ... I use the base skin for my iPAQ and it works just fine!! We need to keep a non-frame skin in the BrowseAmp suite of tools.
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 171 ms (76.2 ms) · 64 database queries in 63.9 ms
Current time: 2018-07-16, 06:38:28 (UTC +00:00)