Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: Features request RSS
Download Function
Avatar
Clay #1
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Henry ... I would really like an easy way to download a track (or playlist) so I could put it onto my PDA (iPAQ) for later offline playback. I understand this isn't really a BrowseAmp core function but it would sure be handy rather than finding another product...another web server, etc.<BR><BR>Let me know what you think.<BR><BR>Clay<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Clay #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
More Info ... I know this might sound like a strange request but remember I access BrowseAmp remotly ... sometimes traveling or from my office. When I get to an Internet access location I'd like to download selected tracks so I can listen on the airplane, in car, etc. This function would be worth something to me <IMG SRC="images/icon_wink.gif"><BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #3
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I also thought of such an option but I did't think someone would need that...<BR><BR>Give me some days!<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.browseamp.com">http://www.browseamp.com</a>
Avatar
Clay #4
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
It would be way cool but a bit of security threat. Think about user management ... only authorized users can download.<BR><BR>Thanks <IMG SRC="images/icon_biggrin.gif"><BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #5
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
There is a slight problem with the current user managment:<BR><BR>You can't be creative with the options slider.<BR><BR>If Henry can remove the slider and put checkboxes instead, it would be better for us to improvise...<BR><BR>P.S. Can the log be able to display the volume changes in "%" instead of just echoing the volume byte?<BR><BR>Thank you!<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.saxtus.gr/">http://www.saxtus.gr/</a>
Saxtus
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #6
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
That can be done.<BR><BR>Give me some more days!<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.browseamp.com">http://www.browseamp.com</a>
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #7
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Thanx!<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.saxtus.gr/">http://www.saxtus.gr/</a>
Saxtus
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #8
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Download function is now (1.77) implemented (other suggestions of this thread too). <BR>But I still have some problems with parallel download. I can't test this properly because local download does not take that long...<BR><BR>Maybe you could tell me your experiences with the function.<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.browseamp.com">http://www.browseamp.com</a>
Avatar
Clay #9
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Henry,<BR><BR>The download to the PC works great! <BR><BR>I also tried downloading to the iPAQ directly and it seems to do strange things. It shows continued transfer (for many minutes) but no final file saved. I'll continue to do more research and let you know on this thread.<BR><BR>Thanks for the hard work <IMG SRC="images/icon_smile.gif"><BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Clay #10
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
More research into the iPAQ download and the tracks are being downloaded but they are going into the Temporary Internet Files directory. On the PC it asks where to save them but there is no prompt on the iPAQ.  Is there anything you can do when starting the download to FORCE IE to ask where to save the files?<BR><BR>This is really cool! I have my entire music library at my fingertips whenever I have an Internet connection. <IMG SRC="images/icon_biggrin.gif"><BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #11
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
What version of IE do you use on your iPAQ? Does "save link as..." prompt for location?<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.browseamp.com">http://www.browseamp.com</a>
Avatar
Clay #12
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I can't tell exactly the version (no "about" menu item). I'm running Pocket PC 2002 (windows CE). My iPAQ is a model 3850.<BR><BR>There isn't any prompt at all. When I do the download ... it just starts downloading in the current temporary directory. When the download is complete there is no indication except IE begins to respond again (light stop flashing on the NIC).<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #13
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
No idea, really...<BR>Does the iPAQ ask when you download files from another webserver? Maybe it is not designated to ask for a location.<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.browseamp.com">http://www.browseamp.com</a>
Avatar
Clay #14
Member since Jan 2003 · 91 posts · Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
This is a very low prioirty!<BR><BR>I can download which is the main thing ... thanks!!!<BR><BR>It isn't hard to find the file in the temp directories.<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 221 ms (126.4 ms) · 104 database queries in 89.5 ms
Current time: 2018-07-17, 09:15:51 (UTC +00:00)