Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General discussion RSS
"Bind port already in use" error
crashes on start
538733 #1
Member since Jun 2006 · 4 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I assume it's MiniLyrics using port 80 as well, though I can only change its settings to proxy. Might it be that Winamp plugins all get the Winamp identification, hence it can't decide which plugin the traffic is destined for? Just guessing ... :blink: .

Thanks.
Avatar
Azimuth #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
You can change the BA port in the plugin settings.
538733 #3
Member since Jun 2006 · 4 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Yes, but the problem is I can't get to the plugin settings as Winamp will crash on startup. Perhaps changing the port wherever the settings are stored would help, question is where :huh:  ?
Avatar
Azimuth #4
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
If that is the case, you have bigger problems.  ;)

Did it always crash? Are you using the default Winamp skin? If not try it.
atrumn #5
Member since Jul 2006 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I do not think he has a bigger problem.  My winamp worked fine until i installed the browseramp and now i have a port conflict error which then results in winamp crashing.  There is no opportunity to change the port.

Is there a place in browseramp where I can manually change the port, without having to launch winamp???
Avatar
Azimuth #6
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
You can change the port in in browseamp.ini (ServerPort).

Remember that there are some WA skins that are not compatible with BA.
538733 #7
Member since Jun 2006 · 4 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Thanks.

But I'm guessing the  browseamp.ini is not written until the first start ? Which point WA doesn't appear to reach before crashing.

Tried the default skin and disabling MiniLyrics, no change.

Perhaps it's possible to attach a 'good' browseamp.ini and tinker it later ?

Oh, didn't mention, but using WA v5.24. Might just be WA bug  :unsure: .
Avatar
Azimuth #8
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Oh! 5.24 won't work...

You need to look at this thread.
538733 #9
Member since Jun 2006 · 4 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
:o

Ah thanks ... gave it a try with Lite install, that worked fine.

Only thing I missed was modern skin support, so tried full with everything unselected except modern skin, no go  :unsure: .
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 215.4 ms (113.1 ms) · 79 database queries in 99.5 ms
Current time: 2018-02-21, 12:39:08 (UTC +00:00)