Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General discussion RSS
Winamp 5.2 and Major Browseamp incompatibilities
Page:  1  2  next 
DigitalMatrixIO #1
Member since Apr 2005 · 11 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
It seems that if you install install the new version of Winamp (version 5.2 released today) and use the default settings that winamp becomes completly incompatable with browseamp. I have run the installer using the "all users share settings" and "Classic Skin" options with browseamp allready installed and it still does not fully start. I do know that it does work if you use the lite installation with shared user settings. It also works with standard installation. I then tried a minimal install and selected only the "Winamp Media Library" option under Media library, and winamp refuses to load once again. It seems that they have changed the Media Library functionality which causes winamp to crash at launch while browseamp is accessing it's now incompatible Media Library.
I have yet to check on another computer. In the Release Notes (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=238648)  it does not seem like they made enough changes to the library to warrent such problems. These are the only two changes listed:
  • Improved: [in_midi] provides metadata to media library
  • Improved: [in_mod] provides metadata to media library

Someone please lest us know what is the problem. Are we going to have to stick with the older version of winamp to run browseamp much like the days when winamp 3 was released?
Fredlo (Guest) #2
No profile available.
Link to this post
I too confirmed the incompatiblity with 5.2. I get an error on icm32.dll which shut down winamp. Reinstalling 5.13 will not solve the problem, but uninstalling browseamp solves it.

I went back to 5.13 for now as browseamp is the best tcp interface. ml_www or ajax are not even close.

It would be great to have a browseamp update.
DigitalMatrixIO #3
Member since Apr 2005 · 11 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I was also getting an error with icm32.dll, I must have forgotten to mention that. Uninstalling winamp 5.2 , uninstalling browseamp, then installing winamp 5.13 and browseamp seemed to make everything work again fine for me.
bb80301 #4
Member since Feb 2003 · 25 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I also had crashing when I installed 5.2.  I uninstalled and reinstalled 5.12 -- back in business w/ browseamp, but I really hope that Henry can help us out so that we can use 5.2 eventually.

Thanks!!!
bb
DigitalMatrixIO #5
Member since Apr 2005 · 11 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
http://download.nullsoft.com/winamp/client...music-7plus.exe

There's the link for the 5.13 release of Winamp (full version with emusic)
Jorn (Guest) #6
No profile available.
Link to this post
OMG, this thread is almost 2 posts longer than this one!  link

I must apologize to Mister Cool Name DigitalNeoMatrixFanBoy.

Sorry man!
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #7
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Hi Folks.

Next week I'm on a vacation. I will have a look at these issues when I return.

Thanks for your patience and for using Browseamp.
Jorn (Guest) #8
No profile available.
Link to this post
K thanx Henry. Have fun on your trip. Are you going skiing/Snowboarding?
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #9
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
After one week of intensive skiing and snowboarding I found some time to have a look at the described issue. Unfortunately I can confirm it...

After playing around with some options and code modifications I have no idea how to get Browseamp to work with the latest (5.21) Winamp. It must be some incompatibility with the Borland Compiler I use and whatever part of Winamp. Sorry folks... :(

I suggest you stay with an older Winamp version until a workaroud is found.
This post was edited on 2006-03-12, 10:35 by Unknown user.
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #10
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
The latest beta build of WinAMP v5.2 that works with browseamp is #393 (Jan 30 2006)
The next beta build of v5.2 #430 (Feb 13 2006) develops this odd behaviour.

Here is the changelog between the two beta builds:
* New: [in_nsv] Using Coding Technologies AAC playback within NSV container
* Improved: new ATF functions and tags
            $repeat(x, count) - creates a string with x repeated count times
* Fixed: m3u playlist handling security vulnerability (thanks to NSFOCUS)
* Fixed: [gen_ff] regions on components don't work
* Fixed: [gen_ff] playlist winshade memory leak
* Updated: [gen_ff] libpng 1.2.8
* Updated: [enc_aacplus] Coding Technologies aacPlus encoder v7.2.0a
Probably something of this might help you pinpoint the problem.
Unfortunatelly this build came out just one day before the security fix (v5.13) so I don't recommend it.
Saxtus
DigitalMatrixIO #11
Member since Apr 2005 · 11 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
It does not run on 5.21 either.
legojedi #12
Member since May 2006 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
To get browse amp to work with 5.2.X just google the icm32.dll and download the file.  Next copy it into your windows/system directory and your program files/winamp directory
korske #13
Member since May 2006 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Quote by legojedi on 2006-05-20, 11:35:
To get browse amp to work with 5.2.X just google the icm32.dll and download the file.  Next copy it into your windows/system directory and your program files/winamp directory
Thanks heaps for that fix.

Seems to be working now.
Korske
www.korske.com
bb80301 #14
Member since Feb 2003 · 25 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Quote by legojedi on 2006-05-20, 10:35:
To get browse amp to work with 5.2.X just google the icm32.dll and download the file.  Next copy it into your windows/system directory and your program files/winamp directory
Lego -- thank you so much for this!!!  Works like a charm.

Thanks also, as always, to Henry for developing and supporting this unique and fantastic plugin. 

bb
mferit #15
Member since Jun 2006 · 8 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Two questions and a comment:
1) Can users report what verison of icm32.dll they are successfully using? I Googled the file and everything I found was older than what is installed on my WinXP machine. I am not super jazzed about using obsolete system files unless I have to. :unsure:
2) Has anyone had any success with the just-released 5.23?
3) I am using 5.2 on my W98SE machine with a classic skin and have no problems running Browseamp.
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Page:  1  2  next 
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 208 ms (116.1 ms) · 104 database queries in 82.7 ms
Current time: 2018-07-17, 09:12:40 (UTC +00:00)