Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General discussion RSS
Winamp in System Tray
ejmalvick #1
Member since Aug 2004 · 6 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I am new to Browseamp and love what it can do. I notice that when I install the program it puts Winamp (the winamp agent) in the system tray even though that feature is not enabled in Winamp's preferences. I assumed this was the case so that if someone typed in the appropriate hyperlink, winamp would start up and start playing.

In my own experience, I find that the browser returns a connection refused message unless I physically start Winamp on the host computer. Is it supposed to be this way? It would be nice to not have to think about starting winamp on the host computer if this is the case, especially if I forget to start Winamp.

Perhaps I am doing something wrong. Once I start winamp I know the server is going. Perhaps the server itself isn't started unless winamp is running? Is there a solution?

Thanks... By the way, as it is, this is an excellent program. I think a nice improvement would be to add more drag and drop ability to the playlist features, though I understand if it is limited by the ability of html and the web broswer.

-Erik
Henry (Administrator) #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Welcome!

BrowseAmp is a plug-in for Winamp. Means it is started when Winamp ist started. No Winamp open, no BrowseAmp working. The Winamp agent has nothing to do with BrowseAmp and Browseamp does not affect its behaviour. Drag'n'drop can't be done with pure HTML. Maybe you are a FLASH expert and want to create a Flash based skin with drag and drop. Feel free to do so...  ;)

Anyway, have fun using BrowseAmp!
ejmalvick #3