Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General discussion RSS
Two copies at once?
Page:  1  2  3  4  next 
jimmyb2 #1
Member since Feb 2004 · 7 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Is it possible to run two copies of BrowseAmp at same time. I love the new PDA skin in the new version, but, if you switch from extended to pocket there is no way to get back to extended. Right now I run Browseamp on port 8080 for my desktop units and Wawi on 8081 for my Pocket PC. Would like to do the same with browseAmps 2 different skins
Avatar
Azimuth #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I'm not sure if you can, but, this link will change the skin to eXtended...

http://server:port/index.html?skin=eXtended
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #3
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
You can run multiple Winamp instances. Go to Winamp preferences --> General Preferences and check the "Allow multiple instances" box. Open another Winamp and make sure to use different Browseamp ports.

But a better idea to solve your problem is to use the BrowseAmp user management. There you can choose individual skins for each user. Maybe one user for Pda with the pda skin and an other user with the extended skin for your desktop.
Guest (Guest) #4
No profile available.
Link to this post
Henry - Once again the genius that you are :) Your solution works perfectly, Thanks agian.

Henry, let me take this time to say something. I have downloaded over a dozen mp3 software packages for playing mp3's over my LAN. I have a server in basement and this is fed to both my whole house intercom system (including outside patio speakers for hot tubbing and bar-b-ques) and also a feed to my Audio amp next to the big screen High Def TV . I want a system to play and look good on TV and desktops with remote control (pda) outside. I ALWAYS come back to your software. Best donation I have spent. Works flawlessly and looks great and of course the Winamp 2.9 plays ALL my mp3's.

Now if you can start adding some jukebox features (search by album covers, touchscreen buttons) it will rival the others I have experimented with. Thanks again for a great piece of software.
Jim
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #5
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Thank YOU!

What exactly do you mean with "touchscreen buttons"? I can't imagine what I could do to make you buy a touchscreen. Send you some money - of course - but...well...
Avatar
Azimuth #6
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I think just a skin with large buttons would be fine for touchscreen use. Correct, Jim? If so, what resolution would you use?

Maybe something like this, or, this?
This post was edited on 2004-04-27, 11:34 by Unknown user.
Guest_jimmyb2 (Guest) #7
No profile available.
Link to this post
You got it Azimuth.
 The play buttons would be fine for a touchscreen monitor, but the song  / album selection would need to be worked on. I am looking into using these
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...3092275793&rd=1
with USB / VGA extender to tie the system together. A 800 x 600 resolution would probably work fine, 1028 x 768 also looks good. This is on the extended skin of course that I am talking.

I am testing this one
http://www.thepcjukebox.com/skins/Classic/...umCoverView.jpg
but am having resolution problems, and this one
http://pages.globetrotter.net/bakerywizard..._Foreground.jpg
works well but since it does not go into screensaver slideshow as touted, I refuse to pay for it.
Avatar
Azimuth #8
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I would hazard to guess that 1/2" square buttons would be fine. With that LCD (1024 x 768), and it's size, that would make the buttons about 90 pixels square; the image you referred to used 80 pixels. Close enough!

I like the layout of those. I'll see what I can come up with.

Henry, any slick thoughts on an album art selector like that (getting an image from multiple folders)?
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #9
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Not before I can read album art directly from the files (ID3Tag).
I have just finished work on media library support. I'll release it within the next few days when the help is up to date. Reading album art from files is my next task.
Avatar
Azimuth #10
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Sounds good!
Guest_jimmyb2 (Guest) #11
No profile available.
Link to this post
Thanks guys. Good to see the project is ever moving forward.
Avatar
Azimuth #12
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Well, several big buttons pretty much fill the screen!

Touchscreen Draft
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #13
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
You can have the Photoshop source of these buttons if you like...
The author has attached one file to this post:
button.zip 87.2 kBytes
You have no permission to open this file.
Avatar
Azimuth #14
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Thanks, Henry! I don't use Photoshop, so, I'll see if I can find an app to split those layers out.

Here's an update. This will need to run in kiosk mode to give it the most screen space.
This post was edited on 2004-05-02, 12:37 by Unknown user.
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #15
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Really nice so far.
Take this png and add your own text...  ;)
The author has attached one file to this post:
button_png.zip 8.1 kBytes
You have no permission to open this file.
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Page:  1  2  3  4  next 
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 201.4 ms (120 ms) · 100 database queries in 79.8 ms
Current time: 2018-07-16, 06:52:28 (UTC +00:00)