Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General discussion RSS
need more instructions please!
Joe Wiedemeier (Guest) #1
No profile available.
Link to this post
I have three computers on my network.  On computer A is installed winamp 2.78 and BrowseAmp.  On this computer I am able to lauch winamp and IE 5.5, go to the localhost address and control winamp from the IE browser window.  OK.  now, is there a way to control winamp on computer A from my other computers via the IE browser. if so, what address, or how??<BR><BR>very nice idea, thanks to TechTV for introducing me to your fine plugin.<BR><BR>best regards<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Joe,<BR><BR>here is an example:<BR><BR>Let's say that your computer's name that has WinAMP+BrowseAMP is "joe" (can be defined at network properties of control panel, it is the same name that displayed at Network Neighborhood for your computer). Also let assume that the port you entered at BrowseAMP preferences is "8080".<BR><BR>Go to the other computers and use (and bookmark) this address:<BR>http://joe:8080/<BR><BR>Michael.<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.saxtus.gr/">http://www.saxtus.gr/</a>
Saxtus
benkillin (Guest) #3
No profile available.
Link to this post
I just use the LAN IP adress like so:<BR><a href="http://192.168.1.2:8000" target="_blank">http://192.168.1.2:8000</a><BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://home.earthlink.net/~benk14/">http://home.earthlink.net/~benk14/</a>
benkillin (Guest) #4
No profile available.
Link to this post
you can find out your LAN IP by using a utility called winipcfg, go to start>run and type in winipcfg and press enter and a box will come up with some info and there will be a box that says IP Adress  and in that box is your computers IP.<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://home.earthlink.net/~benk14/">http://home.earthlink.net/~benk14/</a>
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #5
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
@benkillin: Except if the IP assigned dynamically at every reboot <IMG SRC="images/icon_smile.gif"><BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.saxtus.gr/">http://www.saxtus.gr/</a>
Saxtus
benkillin (Guest) #6
No profile available.
Link to this post
true, I suppose your way is better...<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://home.earthlink.net/~benk14/">http://home.earthlink.net/~benk14/</a>
joe (Guest) #7
No profile available.
Link to this post
sounds like just the info i need.  thanks all!<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
compudude (Guest) #8
No profile available.
Link to this post
i have 3 computers on my network too but i cant evan go to the localhost<BR>i have a d-link wireless router<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href=""></a>
Avatar
Saxtus (Administrator) #9
Member since Jan 2003 · 147 posts · Location: Athens, Greece
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
@Compudude: If you don't use port 80 at BrowseAMP preferences, you must explicitly specify it at the address bar of your browser like this:<BR><a href="http://localhost:1234/" target="_blank">http://localhost:1234/</a><BR>(if the BrowseAMP port is 1234)<BR><BR><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><BR><a href="http://www.saxtus.gr/">http://www.saxtus.gr/</a>
Saxtus
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 186.7 ms (94.7 ms) · 59 database queries in 73.7 ms
Current time: 2018-02-24, 12:25:53 (UTC +00:00)