Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General discussion RSS
Need Help
cant get it to work?
ceuyan #1
Member since Aug 2003 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
can someone help? im not too good with networking but i have my csk and a linksys BEFSR41 router and internet thru charter communications. how can i get browseamp to work. when i go to configure browseamp my request log is empty. i tried to set up forwarding on my router but i cant seem to get it right.. please help

and if i do happen to get it set up right, what website address do i use to get access to my comp?
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
BrowseAmp runs on port 80 by default. Forward this port to get access.

Find out your IP address (at the BrowseAmp comp, enter ipconfig at command line) and use http://%YOUR_IP% to get access over internet.  You can also try this from the computer where BrowseAmp runs.

Hope this helps.  ;)
Guest (Guest) #3
No profile available.
Link to this post
ok i figured out that i can get access at the actual computer where browseamp is located by using the http://localhost:80 but i htried http://my_ip and it doesnt work am i suppost to include the % ?

example http://%111.222.333.444%

is this correct?

if i change the port from 80 to something else do i have to include that in the http?
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #4
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
The %'s are just a symbol that you have to replace the %something% with your value.  ;)
Use http://192.168.1.1 (replace the numbers with your local IP) if you are at a computer in you LAN.

I think you'll get another IP from your ISP when you're online. Use this one when accessing your comp from the internet. If you don't want to use these stupid ip numbers just visit www.dyndns.org. Install their FREE software and your machine is reachable with a real domain name (like: http://yourcomputer.dyndns.org).

If you change the port where BrowseAmp runs just add :81 (or whatever you use) after the IP (ex: http://192.168.1.1:81).
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 171.2 ms (77.7 ms) · 50 database queries in 68.7 ms
Current time: 2018-12-18, 14:01:12 (UTC +00:00)