Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General discussion RSS
Bug: Offset Does Not Work With Large Length
Page:  1  2  next 
Aaron #1
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Yes, this is my 5th post on this...   :(

use this code and you will see the bug:


<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" Content="0">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache, must-revalidate">
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/style.css" />
   
<title>PlayList</title>
</head>
<body class="iframe_trans">
  <table width="330" border="0" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="1" class="standard">
    <form name="playlistform" action="" method="post" target="_self">
      <#playlist template=templates/playlist_row.html highlight=templates/playlist_hlrow.html next=templates/playlist_nextrow.html offset=-4 length=30>
    </form>
  </table>
</body>
</html>
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #2
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Have just tried your code but it works fine for me.
Anyone else?

(didn't I say that before...  ;) )
Aaron #3
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I just tried it again and still the same problem. This is on every version of BrowseAmp.

When you use my code on a playlist that is say over 200 songs, does it place your chosen song as the 4th down from the top in the list?

Mine does not shift the song list to move it to the 4th position. It just stays the same and the song it highlighted somewhere lower on the list.

It is appreciated if others could try this.  :blink:
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #4
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Setting the Length property to 200 does only make sense if you have >200 track in your playlist. Length means MAXIMUM LENGTH of the playlist.
If you have <200 tracks then all tracks are displayed and the offset is not relevant anymore.
Aaron #5
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I would like to see the offset work so that the playing song is always displayed in the offset position on the web page on the playlist display.

Example:

offset = -4
Length = 200
actual PL length = 322

SONG56 playing
_________________

song53
song54
song55
SONG56     <--- this is the highlighted song playing
song57
song58
song59
song60
song61
 <must scroll now>
... song199
... song225
... song253


SONG57 playing
_________________

song54
song55
song56
SONG57   <--- this is the highlighted song playing
song58
song59
song60
song61
song62
 <must scroll now>
... song199
... song225
... song254


See how everything shifted up one? This allows you to always see the 'playing' song near the top of the list but still scroll through the rest of the songs without needing to go to a different web page.

Henry, can you add this? It would be appreciated!
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #6
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
That's exactly what it does...  :huh:
But if the playlist interval nudges at the bottom of the playlist (last track) it will NOT be shifted down any longer if you play a track near the end of the playlist. You'll always have 200 tracks displayed.
Aaron #7
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Mine does not work that way. No matter what I try, on two separate PCs, and trying different versions of WinAmp it still does not work properly.
I have attached my skin in another posting. If you could try it and let me know if the currently playing song scrolls further to the bottom and eventually "disappears" from your playlist window in the main screen (index.html), as it does on mine?  :blink:

thanks!

really though... Henry this is a kick butt app. You do a great job!  :-D
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
Aaron #8
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Looks like my skin did not get attached... another try. Here's goes.

thanks in advance to you guys for trying this out and helping me find the problem.
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
The author has attached one file to this post:
mc.zip 134.5 kBytes
You have no permission to open this file.
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #9
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Works great for me. Here are some screenshot so you can see how it looks on my pc.

top of playlist (offset=-4 so 4 songs before the current are displayed)
bottom of playlist (length=30, so 30 tracks are displayed)

Don't know why it does not work for you, really?  :blink:  But the skin looks cool!
Aaron #10
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Henry,
So if you choose to play song 28, does it "pop to the top" of the list and display as in the -4 spot?
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #11
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Yes, but only if you have more than 63 tracks in your playlist so there are enough tracks that can be displayed after  track 28 to complete the length=30.
Aaron #12
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
So I set my Length to 300 and I have a playlist that has 43 songs. I have attached the screenshot of choosing song 12... notice it does not jump to the 5th position on the display. Why does this work for you and not me? I have tried on 2 computers with both versions of BrowseAmp and three versions of Winamp.
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
The author has attached one file to this post:
MC_offset.jpg 32.4 kBytes
You have no permission to open this file.
Avatar
Henry (Administrator) #13
Member since Jan 2003 · 865 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Ok, let me explain once again...

The length attribute defines the height of a "window" through which you can "see" a cutting of the playlist. The offset attribute defines the position of the current track relative to the top of the "window". Something like an anchor where the window is tightened to.

So if you set the length to 300 your window will show 300 tracks. If you have only 43 tracks in your playlist ALL tracks can be "viewed" through this window and no scolling is needed.

To solve your problem just decrease the length. IT IS NOT A BUG!!!

Hope you got it now!  ;)
Avatar
Azimuth #14
Member since Jan 2003 · 427 posts · Location: Chicago, Illinois - USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Aaron,

Set your length to 12...
Aaron #15
Member since Mar 2003 · 64 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I'm sorry this is as frustrating for you as it is for me since what I thought worked one way does not.


I would like to request a new feature that works this way:

I want to be able to see my entire playlist (scroll through it) but when I choose a song (upon refresh), initially, the playlist displays the newly chosen song 4th from the top.

Can you add this feature?

Maybe call it "ScrollingOffset"?
<a href="http://www.way2.info" target="_blank">www.way2.info</a> - Find all information here
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Page:  1  2  next 
Go to forum
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 225.7 ms (136.7 ms) · 109 database queries in 94.7 ms
Current time: 2018-12-18, 13:24:37 (UTC +00:00)